clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 MLS Expansion Draft: San Jose Earthquakes lose Jason Hernandez to New York City FC

MLS conducted its Expansion Draft today, and the Earthquakes roster is now one player shorter than it was before as Jason Hernandez returns to his hometown.

Jason Hernandez moves to New York after a seven-year stay in San Jose
Jason Hernandez moves to New York after a seven-year stay in San Jose
Lyndsay Radnedge | Center Line Soccer

The 2014 MLS Expansion Draft was conducted on Wednesday, and the San Jose Earthquakes lost one player during the 10-round proceedings.

In Round Three, New York City FC selected defender Jason Hernandez, the sixth overall choice in the draft. The 31-year old defender was a workhorse for the Quakes in 2014, stepping in effectively for the injured Clarence Goodson over the second half of the season. He logged 1732 minutes in 20 starts for San Jose, his fifth most as an Earthquake.

Hernandez joined the Quakes as part of the Expansion Draft ahead of San Jose's return to MLS in 2008, and he was the longest tenured player on the team. The New York City native will return to his hometown after seven seasons with the Earthquakes. He started his MLS career with the MetroStars, now known as the New York Red Bulls, in 2005.

Hernandez was a defender through and through, and in his seven years in San Jose made countless goal line stops to prevent the opposition from scoring. Not the most imposing of defenders, Hernandez rarely joins the fray on offense for set pieces, and he yet to net a single goal in 10 MLS seasons.

Hernandez now has his contract rights held by New York City FC, and all salary negotiations and options will be determined in the coming weeks. He earned $213,333.33 in guaranteed salary in 2014, according to figures released by the MLS Players' Union. As compensation for losing one player in the draft, the Earthquakes will be awarded $50,000 in allocation money by the league for the 2015 season.

2014 MLS Expansion Draft Selections
Orlando City SC New York City FC
Round 1 Donovan Ricketts (Portland) Ned Grabavoy (RSL)
Round 2 Tony Cascio (Colorado) Patrick Mullins (New England)
Round 3 Jalil Anibaba (Seattle) Jason Hernandez (San Jose)
Round 4 Pedro Ribeiro (Philadelphia) Daniel Lovitz (Toronto)
Round 5 Lewis Neal (D.C. United) Tony Taylor (New England)
Round 6 Jairo Arrieta (Columbus) Mehdi Ballouchy (Vancouver)
Round 7 Heath Pearce (Montreal) George John (FC Dallas)
Round 8 Danny Mwanga (Colorado) Tommy McNamara (D.C. United)
Round 9 Mark Sherrod (Houston) Sal Zizzo (Sporting KC)
Round 10 Eric Gehrig (Columbus) Chris Wingert (RSL)