clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Wondolowski in, Goodson out: Klinsmann announces his 23-man squad for the World Cup.

The USMNT 23-man roster was announced today - somewhat unexpectedly given that the roster does not have to be submitted to FIFA until June 2. After 10 days in camp, head coach Jurgen Klinsmann thought that "the point has come to make the decision".

Chris Wondolowski trains with the USMNT at Stanford University, Friday May 16th, 2014
Chris Wondolowski trains with the USMNT at Stanford University, Friday May 16th, 2014
Lyndsay Radnedge | Center Line Soccer

It's a good news, bad news situation for Earthquakes fans: local hero Chris Wondolowski is in, while defender Clarence Goodson is out.  Other omissions from the 23-man squad are forwards Terrence Boyd and Landon Donovan, midfielders Joe Corona and Maurice Edu, and defenders Brad Evans, and Michael Parkhurst.  The seven remaining players have been placed on a standby list and are returning to their respective club teams.

The omission of Donovan, who was hoping for a record fourth World Cup trip to Brazil, is generating the most buzz in the Twitterverse.  For Wondolowski, his selection comes with the knowledge that a child, yet to be born, will carry the middle name: Wondo.

Quakes fans will have the chance to wish their local hero Bon Voyage when the first game of the "Send-Off Series" kicks off with USA vs. Azerbaijan, powered by Yingli Solar, at 7 p.m. on Tuesday, May 27, at Candlestick Park in San Francisco. There is also a public training session at Candlestick Park on Memorial Day, which starts at 5 PM Monday May 26, for which attendance is free.

The USA then hosts Turkey at 2 p.m. ET on Sunday, June 1, at Red Bull Arena in Harrison, New Jersey, before traveling to Jacksonville, Florida, to face Nigeria on June 7 at 6 p.m. ET at EverBank Field. All three Send-Off Series matches will be broadcast live on ESPN2, WatchESPN, UniMas and ESPN Deportes Radio. Fans can also follow the games live on Twitter @ussoccer.


GOALKEEPERS (3): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Everton), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS (8): DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Timmy Chandler (Nürnberg), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Mönchengladbach), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)

MIDFIELDERS (8): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg), Julian Green (Bayern Munich), Jermaine Jones (Besiktas), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

FORWARDS (4): Jozy Altidore (Sunderland), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)