clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

San Jose Earthquakes annouce roster moves for 2018 season as offseason kicks into gear

Quakes roster currently at 18 players

MLS: San Jose Earthquakes at Los Angeles Galaxy Kelvin Kuo-USA TODAY Sports

The San Jose Earthquakes announced today their decisions on a multitude of player contract options for the 2018 MLS season. Highlighting the list of those whose options were picked up are starting goalkeeper Andrew Tarbell and the central midfield tandem of Anibal Godoy and Darwin Ceren.

Those three, as well as Fatai Alashe and Matt Bersano, join the other 13 players already under contract for 2018: defenders Francois Affolter, Harold Cummings, Nick Lima, and Florian Jungwirth, midfielders Simon Dawkins, Jahmir Hyka, Shea Salinas, Tommy Thompson, Valeri Qazaishvili, and Jackson Yueill, and forwards Quincy Amarikwa, Marco Ureña, and Chris Wondolowski.

A total of seven players had their contract options denied, possibly ending their tenures with San Jose: defenders Victor Bernardez and Kip Colvey, midfielders Cordell Cato, Lindo Mfeka, Marc Pelosi, and Matheus Silva, and forward Danny Hoesen. In addition, goalkeeper David Bingham and defenders Andres Imperiale and Kofi Sarkodie are out of contract.

The Earthquakes can look to negotiate new contracts with any of these players, just like they did with Thompson last year after his option was declined. GM Jesse Fioranelli stated recently that the club was working to bring Hoesen back next season. Bernardez, Imperiale, and Mfeka are also candidates to have new deals in place for 2018.

Up next on the offseason calendar is the 2017 MLS Expansion Draft, which will take place on Tuesday, December 11. Expansion side LAFC may select up to five players from the rest of the 22 MLS squads, though only a single player can be drafted from any one team, and Homegrown and Generation Adidas players are not eligible for selection. The Earthquakes will announce their 11-player proctected list prior to the draft.

San Jose Earthquakes roster

Goalkeeper (2): Matt Bersano, Andrew Tarbell (GA)

Defender (4): Francois Affolter (INT'L), Harold Cummings (INT'L), Florian Jungwirth (INT'L), Nick Lima (HG)

Midfielder (9): Fatai Alashe, Darwin Ceren, Simon Dawkins (DP, INT'L), Anibal Godoy (INT'L), Jahmir Hyka (INT'L), Valeri Qazaishvili (DP, INT'L), Shea Salinas, Tommy Thompson (HG), Jackson Yueill (GA)

Forward (3): Quincy Amarikwa, Marcos Ureña (INT'L), Chris Wondolowski (DP)