clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

San Jose Earthquakes to begin playoffs Thanksgiving week

Mark your calendars!

MLS: Vancouver Whitecaps FC at San Jose Earthquakes Stan Szeto-USA TODAY Sports

MLS announced the 2020 MLS Cup Playoffs schedule on Friday, so now we know when the San Jose Earthquakes will begin play.

Put simply, the Western Conference playoff games will kick off the week of Thanksgiving, so the Earthquakes will either play Saturday, Nov. 21, Sunday, Nov. 22, or Tuesday, Nov. 24. The actual matchups and specific schedule will likely be announced Sunday evening, or Monday at the latest, after the Decision Day games wrap up the regular season.

The playoffs will actually begin on Nov. 20, but for the Eastern Conference only. Because the Eastern Conference is larger than the West this season, there will be two play-in games for the four lowest teams that qualify from the East. In contrast, the Western Conference has eight qualifiers and it’s a straight bracket on that side. One more note: The playoffs are now all single-elimination games, so it’s like the MLS is Back Tournament knockouts all over again.

The Quakes will definitely play their first match on the road, and could be on the road throughout depending on how deep they go in the postseason and which other teams advance. But mark your calendars, as the playoffs will kickoff in the days before Thanksgiving this season for the Earthquakes.

What do you think? Leave a comment below.