clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Vote: San Jose Earthquakes 2020 Defender of the Year

Cast your ballot to kick off our season awards series.

SOCCER: NOV 22 MLS Cup Playoffs Western Conference Round One - San Jose at Sporting KC Photo by Scott Winters/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The 2020 season is in the books for the San Jose Earthquakes, and it’s time for some Center Line Soccer awards.

The good news is the people deciding these season-ending awards are you, yes you, the readers. Your votes will carry the day, and we begin with the top defender of 2020.

Every player who played competitive minutes across the backline in 2020 is eligible, provided he made at least one start from a defender slot, since Matias Almeyda does like to move guys around a bit. Perhaps controversially, that means Judson is not eligible for this one, but the midfielder will get a chance in a future award.

So it’s time: Which player gets your vote in the poll? Vote now!

(Note: If you can’t see the poll below, you’ll need to open this article in a browser, then it should appear.)


Who was the Earthquakes’ Defender of the Year in 2020?

This poll is closed

  • 0%
    Jacob Akanyirige
    (0 votes)
  • 16%
    Oswaldo Alanís
    (5 votes)
  • 0%
    Tanner Beason
    (0 votes)
  • 53%
    Florian Jungwirth
    (16 votes)
  • 0%
    Guram Kashia
    (0 votes)
  • 20%
    Nick Lima
    (6 votes)
  • 10%
    Marcos Lopez
    (3 votes)
  • 0%
    Paul Marie
    (0 votes)
  • 0%
    Shea Salinas
    (0 votes)
  • 0%
    Tommy Thompson
    (0 votes)
30 votes total Vote Now

Which player was your pick, and why? Leave a comment below to stump for your choice.